The Couse Foundation / Board and Staff

Alan J. Olson, Founder - Boulder, CO and Palm Desert, CA

Board of Directors

Carl Jones, President – Taos, NM
Retired Austin Attorney, who specialized in large corporate transactions and international joint ventures.

Richard Rinehart, Chairman and Vice President – Denver, CO and Taos, NM
A professional management consultant focusing on strategic planning and leadership development.

Virginia Couse Leavitt, Secretary – Taos, NM and Tucson, AZ
MFA art historian and granddaughter of E. I. Couse

Deborah McLean, Treasurer – Taos, NM
Executive Director of the Taos Center for the Arts.  Studied fine arts and has a BA in Environmental Planning and an MA in Planning and Business Administration.

Kristin Bender – Taos, NM and Denver, CO
Experienced fundraiser with a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration and a Master’s Degree in Marketing.

Abigail Hornik-Minckler – Billings, MT and NYC
Owner and designer of  BFA in photography and video; lived in Paris for a year studying art and art history.  Completed the Emerging Leadership Program at Denver University’s Daniels School of Business.

Dustin Leavitt - Tucson, AZ
Artist and writer. Former university professor and exhibitions designer for The Center for Creative Photography.

Tony Skvarla - Taos, NM
Retired Account Executive with JP Morgan.

Laura Finlay Smith – Santa Fe, NM
Experienced curator, director and manager of some of the most prestigious art galleries in Santa Fe.  She has extensive knowledge of Southwestern Art.  

Barbara Sparks – Colorado Springs, CO
Well-published and well-collected fine art landscape photographer with an emphasis on New Mexico and Colorado.

Officers & Staff

Holly Azzari, Vice President and Volunteer Coordinator – Taos, NM
Retired legislative aide and political campaign coordinator in Los Angeles.

Davison Koenig, Executive Director / Curator – Taos, NM
Formerly the Curator of Exhibits at the Arizona State Museum in Tucson, AZ, the largest and oldest anthropology museum in the Southwest. MFA in Museum Exhibition Planning and Design; BA in the Anthropology of Art.

Regina Scherffius, Program Manager – Taos, NM
Former government and corporate communication manager and director. Book and publications editor, aspiring novelist, screenwriter and photographer. Bachelor of Journalism in news and public affairs.