News & Events / News - Announcements

- See or download an electronic copy of our print LEGACY newsletter, Fall 2021

- See or download a copy of our electronic Notes & News, Spring 2021


The Couse Foundation forms National Advisory Council

The Board of Directors of The Couse Foundation at its June 2020 meeting instituted a National Advisory Council and adopted the initial slate of eight members. “We are delighted that nationally known authorities and experts have enthusiastically agreed to be available to the board to advise us as needed,” said Tim Newton, board chairman.

The council broadens the geographic reach of leadership for the Foundation, provides access to areas of expertise that otherwise might not be represented among board members, and ensures that key former Foundation officials can remain involved and available to share their experiences and institutional knowledge with the board, its committees, and Foundation staff.

Members, who serve on a year-to-year basis, will be kept up to date on Foundation and Couse-Sharp Historic Site activities and issues and invited to attend board meetings as warranted. Carl Jones, who served as board chairman until this year and is a former president, will serve as the initial liaison between the board and the council. The three former board members who are now serving on the council were those who served the entire nine-year maximum board term as established in the bylaws. 

“The fact that these eight outstanding individuals are associated with us is a great asset as we build and navigate the future of the organization,” Newton said.

The inaugural eight members are:

Caroline Jean Fernald, PhD
Executive Director, Phoebe A. Hearst Museum of Anthropology
University of California at Berkeley
Berkeley, CA

Michael Grauer
McCasland Chair of Cowboy Culture/Curator of Cowboy Collections and Western Art
National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum
Oklahoma City, OK

George Engdahl
Former Board Member, The Couse Foundation
Irving, TX

Carl Jones
Former President and Chairman, The Couse Foundation
Arroyo Seco, NM

Alan Olson
Founder and Former President and Chairman, The Couse Foundation
Palm Desert, CA

Dean A. Porter, PhD
Former Director, Snite Museum of Art at the University of Notre Dame
Granger, IN

Thomas Brent Smith
Director, Petrie Institute of Western American Art, Denver Art Museum
Denver, CO

Marie Watkins, PhD
Professor Emerita of Art History, Furman University
Greenville, SC